Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Defeat of misrule and ego, victory of hope, says Rahul Gandhi


While congratulating the people of Madhya Pradesh on Congress’ victory in two bypolls in the state, grand old party president Rahul Gandhi took to Twitter to express his pleasure.

“Congratulations to the people of Madhya Pradesh, the voters and the Congress workers, the magnificent victory of Kolaras-Mungaoli. It is the defeat of ego and misery and victory of hope. Earlier Rajasthan and now Madhya Pradesh have proven that the wave of change is approaching,” Gandhi tweeted. (Translated; original in Hindi).

In a shock to the ruling BJP, the Congress yesterday won bypolls to Mungaoli and Kolaras seats.

Congress candidate Brijendra Singh Yadav defeated BJP’s Bhai Sahab Deshraj Singh Yadav by 2124 votes in Mungaoli. Yadav got 70,808 votes, while the BJP candidate polled 68,684 votes.

Congress’ Mahendra Singh Yadav defeated BJP’s Devendra Kumar Jain by 8,083 votes in Kolaras. Yadav got 82,515 votes whereas Jain polled 74,432 votes.

Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia’s supporters celebrated with banners saying “Ab ki baar, Scindia Sarkar”, making their choice for Congress’ CM face clear.

Congress leaders, including Jyotiraditya Scindia, Vivek Tankha, Arun Yadav and Kamal Nath congratulated the winning candidates and thanked the voters for making the Congress candidates win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *